Testimonials

Alexander S. McLawhorn, MD, MBA review summary

5on Google,Jan 19, 2023

dorothy

did my knee replacement several years ago and never had a problem since. couldn't be a better Dr.


Recommendedon Facebook,Jan 03, 2023

Thato L.

MR KILLIAN BAYER, God Will keep blessing you , I got my withdrawal yesterday. binary trader is still the very best platform I have experience myself, because they are very reliable and legit too, I invested $500 to earn $7,000 ...everything was so easy than I thought, I kindly recommend MR KILLIAN BAYER contact him Email: killianbayer704@gmail.com WhatsApp: +1 707-654-4150


5on Google,Dec 27, 2022

miikka

Dr Alexander McLawhorn performed hip replacement surgery on 11/4/22 on my left hip. 5 weeks later I was able to walk 4 mile walk already at once with out no cane or support . Dr and his team were very informative and professional and I never felt nervous or uncomfortable before or post surgery. I could have not asked more from Dr McLawhorn, his team and HSS . If you do have the same issue this would be my no.1 recommendation!


5on Healthgrades,Dec 20, 2022

Anonymous

Had my hip replaced a year ago. Everything went great. Saw Dr McLawhorn in his Stamford Ct office. Had the surgery at Stamford Hospital. Easy in and out. No traffic, no parking headaches, perfectly professional. The process from my first appointment to my one year check went well and smoothly. I would recommend him to anyone needing a joint replacement. Only issuer id he's is so busy, you may have to wait a while to get an appointment


5on Google,Dec 19, 2022

Laura

This was my second hip replacement with Dr McLawhorn and he is brilliant! Surgery was smooth, recovery is fine, no pain from the minute I awoke from surgery. HSS Stamford is fantastic and all parts of this experience have been the best I could expect. Thank you HSS!



5on Google,Dec 15, 2022

Trey

Dr. McLawhorn is the best in the country I would recommend no one else to do hip surgery and I have recommended him to everyone I know and meet who may need hip surgery. Dr. McLawhorn truly is the expert surgeon in his field and cares about each patient. His whole staff and everyone at Stamford hospital is number one and I can’t thank them more - if my other hip needed replacement I’d go back in a heartbeat.


5on Google,Dec 13, 2022

Trudi

Dr. McLawhorn is an excellent surgeon. He replaced my hip and he did a great job. He explained everything very clearly and listened to all my concerns. I am 6 weeks out from the surgery and feel that I am close to being back 100%.


5on Google,Dec 12, 2022

Amy

Everyone is professional and super friendly. Provided helpful, easy to follow pre and post directions on what to do what not to do.


5on Google,Dec 12, 2022

Shannon

Dr. McLawhorn is an exceptional surgeon with incredible interpersonal skills. I had both of my hips replaced and was extremely satisfied with the results. The entire staff was friendly, helpful, and accommodating and I would 100% recommend him to anyone considering a hip replacement


5on Google,Dec 05, 2022

Paul

Excellent Dr. Had knee replacement surgery and it went perfectly. I now have no pain and am back to the gym and playing pickle ball. Wouldn’t go to anyone else for knee or hip surgery


5on Healthgrades,Dec 05, 2022

Marcy E

Everything about my hip replacement surgeries, including preparation and aftercare, was well-managed and smooth. Dr McLawhorn is both professional and easy to communicate with. I’m so happy with my results!


5on Healthgrades,Nov 23, 2022

Madelyn

Dr McLawhorn was absolutely awesome in replacing my left hip. Dr has a great bedside manner and his staff is very courteous and helpful. The hss floor in Stamford hospital is beautiful and the staff were so nice and respectful. My hip is doing great and overall, an amazing experience. Thanks


5on Google,Nov 21, 2022

Robert

A most excellent orthopedic surgeon. A great facility. Wonder conscientious staff.


5on Healthgrades,Nov 21, 2022

Anonymous

I had hip replacement surgery by Dr. McLawhorn about two months ago and I couldn't be happier with the excellent results. I would definitely recommend Dr. McLawhorn to anyone considering hip replacement surgery


5on Healthgrades,Nov 01, 2022

Steve

Extremely professional-to the point and instills a tremendous amount of confidence that the surgery will be done properly and efficiently. Everything that he told me pre and post op was a 100% accurate.



5on Healthgrades,Oct 12, 2022

Mark from

Really outstanding all around. I had a total hip replacement (anterior)with Dr McLawhorn in September 2021. I was back playing tennis and golf on January 1st. I had surgery in the morning and was home by 2:30 the same day. I experienced little if any pain and followed the Doctors directions. The office is very responsive to any questions or issues and is first class. I have recommended Dr McLawhorn to friends and all have had a great experience.


5on Google,Oct 11, 2022

Mark

Really outstanding all around. I had a total hip replacement (anterior)with Dr McLawhorn in September 2021. I was back playing tennis and golf on January 1st. I had surgery in the morning and was home by 2:30 the same day. I experienced little if any pain and followed the Doctors directions. The office is very responsive to any questions or issues and is first class. I have recommended Dr McLawhorn to friends and all have had a great experience.


5on Google,Sep 25, 2022

Paul

I have never personally had him as a dr but I went to high school with Alex he is the smartest human being I have ever met, and my sister was an AB DUKE scholar and met her husband at harvard medical school. He also use to bend over backwards to help me in honors physics class for no other reason that he is genuinely a great person.


5on Google,Sep 25, 2022

Nancy

I consulted with Dr McLawhorn after seeing several surgeons about a total knee replacement (TKR). First he recommended I try other options rather than rushing in. For that I was grateful. After about 6 months it was clear that I still needed the surgery. It has been a year since the TKR and things are great! I recovered fairly quickly from the TKR and played tennis 8 months after the surgery. No pain. Once I am ready to do the other knee I will return to Dr McLawhorn again. The office staff could not have been nicer during all the scheduling before and after. They are always a pleasure to deal with. Thank you!


5on Google,Sep 20, 2022

wordsmyth

Impeccable in every way Dr. McLawhorn performed a Total Hip replacement on my right hip in August 2022. Dr. M is kind, and above all, precise in prep, surgery, and post op care -- an all-around terrific top notch surgeon. Dr. McLawhorn's PA's (Elissa and Molly) are super responsive and flawless in the implementation of their respective foci. I had many questions and I always received the info I needed in a timely manner. Also, kind and clear! The office staff is GREAT! Available, responsive, efficient and worked with me regardless of whether is surgical scheduling or insurance. I have only good things to say about Dr. McLawhorn and his team!


5on Google,Sep 19, 2022

wcarozza

Dr. McLawhorn is extremely bright, skilled and effective. Eight weeks after right hip full replacement surgery, I returned to tennis, biking, swimming, gym, with complete recovery. The services at HSS were professional, the facilities excellent. I most highly recommend Dr M and HSS.


5on Google,Sep 17, 2022

David

After tolerating the discomfort and limitations of a seriously arthritic hip, I chose Dr. McLawhorn to perform the surgery, based on his experience and expertise with the anterior robotic procedure. I was in and out of the hospital in 24 hours, up and walking the day of the surgery with no appreciable pain of any kind. I’m walking normally for the first time in five years and it feels great. Thanks to Dr. McLawhorn and his team for restoring my mobility!


5on Healthgrades,Sep 17, 2022

JoAnn

Thanks to a very time-efficient process, HSS took x-rays and Dr McLawhorn reviewed the status of my replacement hips in just over an hour. Thanks to his caring staff and expert surgery, I have returned to an active lifestyle!



5on Google,Sep 16, 2022

Jo

Dr. McLawhorn and staff at Hospital for Special Surgery provide the best orthopedic care. The staff and doctor show interest and empathy for the patient as well as expert joint repair. The hip replacements have allowed my return to an active lifestyle.


5on Healthgrades,Sep 16, 2022

georgette

simply an amazing surgeon and his wonderful staff that “make it happen”. i never felt like i waiting forever for appointments, etc. i was clear with my goals and so were they. i literally could not walk (at a very young age) and now i’m keeping in stride with my three teens and most importantly, can be pain free and optimistic about the future. recommend 150%.


5on Healthgrades,Aug 17, 2022

HDrought

My experience with Dr. McLawhorn for hip replacement was outstanding. He and his team at HSS were totally thorough and detail oriented. I had total confidence in Dr. McLawhorn and his staff at HSS and they delivered. You can be confident that Dr. McLawhorn is one of the best hip replacement surgeons in the country.


5on Healthgrades,Aug 17, 2022

Grateful

Dr. McLawhorn and his staff supported me from diagnosis through surgery and recovery to the highest standards. He is direct in his communications ensuring full understanding of the process, the procedure and post op expectations. Provides detailed materials that anticipate questions. He and his staff are readily accessible to discuss any additional questions or concerns. My confidence in Dr. McLawhorn as a surgeon and healthcare profession is such that I am returning for the second hip surgery and have recommended him to those I know who need hip or knee surgery.


Book An Appointment

* All indicated fields must be completed.
Please include non-medical questions and correspondence only.

Visit Our Offices

Accessibility Toolbar